How to set parameters like Manufacturer, Device, Os version, Device Name and so on...

Aug 31, 2013 at 12:35 AM
I have a little but maybe stupid question, i am new to this SDK for google analytics, i have tried it to track pageviews. but how i can set to track generally al the other device parameters like Os version, Manufacturer name, Device Name, Os version?! is it possible and how?!
Coordinator
Aug 31, 2013 at 2:24 AM
For Windows Phone this is automatic. GA uses the user agent to gather this info (which the SDK provides). Win8, unfortunately does not expose this via the Windows APIs (AFAIK), therefore it is not possible to provide this level of detail to GA aside from the fact that it is Windows 8... otherwise this SDK would have this built in.

Tim
Aug 31, 2013 at 10:37 AM
Edited Aug 31, 2013 at 10:50 AM
Oh thats very good, i have not read about his anywhere here so i had to ask and i my first tests in the emulator for 7.1 i have seen only screen views and no device or manufacturer, os version and so on. therefore i asked. but i will test on my wp8 device and report here what happens.

Little update on this post, i have looked again on my google analytics for this app and i have installed it also on my phone and it seas only in the "real-time" tab the app version and the windows i set to track like in the tutorial the main window. But i dont see any other info about device or any other information coming in. does this take time or do i have to do this with more users so it shows up? because i want to implement this in my next version i will submit monday and want to know :)
Aug 31, 2013 at 11:20 AM
timgreenfield wrote:
For Windows Phone this is automatic. GA uses the user agent to gather this info (which the SDK provides). Win8, unfortunately does not expose this via the Windows APIs (AFAIK), therefore it is not possible to provide this level of detail to GA aside from the fact that it is Windows 8... otherwise this SDK would have this built in.

Tim